Another Kind of Magic

Author  – Elizabeth Davies is a paranormal author, whose books have a romantic flavour with more than a hint of suspense. And death. There’s usually death…

Another Kind of Magic is the third in her Caitlyn series.  She has also written The Resurrection Series and The Spirit Guide and The Medium Path.

Author Photo Aug 16[1438].jpg
Elizabeth Davies
Social Media Links –


Twitter  – @bethsbooks


Instagram– @elizabethdavies.author

Pages – 340

The Blurb –

 “I am a cat. But I am no ordinary cat. I am a witch’s familiar. I am also a woman, with a woman’s heart and a woman’s frailty.”

Nearly two hundred years have passed since Caitlyn was trapped by supernatural forces and black magic, and she has known many mistresses. This time, the witch she is enthralled to is Joan, wife of Llewelyn, Prince of Wales.

At first, this mistress appears no different to any of the others Caitlyn has served – until Llewelyn captures William de Braose, and Joan falls in love, risking everything, including Caitlyn, to fulfil her desire.

Caitlyn, meanwhile, has her own cross to bear in the form of the gallant and reckless Hugh of Pembroke…

Today is my stop on the blog tour of Another Kind of Magic, many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the chance to review.

Another Kind of Magic Full Tour Banner[1439]

My thoughts – This is the third in the trilogy of the author’s Caitlyn series, I hadn’t read the other two before reading this one.  This was not a problem at all, as it worked really well as a stand alone.  I came to all the characters new and picked up Caitlyn’s back story easily.

Caitlyn has a secret, she is a witch’s familiar.  Unfortunately for her, her mistress uses Caitlyn’s power for her own advantage. Living in a castle, where most of the inhabitants don’t even know of her existence, she changes from Caitlyn to cat, spying for her mistress Joan.

In the past Caitlyn has been cursed by a witch, so whomever ‘owns’ her, at this point in Caitlyn’s story it is Joan, her can use her for whatever purpose they desire.  She can not act against them or cause them harm, even if she wished too.

Joan is married to Llewellyn who rules North Wales, but she has bigger plans for herself which she sets into motion when Llewellyn captures Lord Abergavenny and Hugh.  The story flows as Caitlyn is put into more dangerous situations as she tries to fulfil her mistress’s wishes.

The book flows really well and I read it quickly to see how everything turned out for her.  Elizabeth Davies has successfully combined danger, love, history and humour into this book.

To purchase the book click here

I happy to announce that there is a brilliant giveaway too.  Please read the instructions below to enter.

Giveaway – Win Tote bag and a signed paperback copy of each of the three books in the Caitlyn series. (Open Internationally)

AKOM giveaway[1443].jpg

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize



One thought on “Another Kind of Magic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s