Blog Tour

Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage

The Amazon purchase links contained within my blog are Amazon Affiliate Links.

Author – Clare Chase.

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare Chase

Social Media Links –

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

Website: www.clarechase.com

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 315

The Blurb –

Obituary writer and amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is enjoying life in sleepy Saxford St Peter – until a mysterious murder lands right at her door…

It’s spring in Saxford St Peter – time to get back in the garden, listen to the birds, and take gentle strolls in the woods. But for some, it’s the season for murder.

Eve Mallow is relishing the gentle pace of the village until a new arrival stirs everyone up. Ashton Foley is back: a teenage tearaway turned interior designer to the stars. He’s mad, bad and dangerous to know, but charming too – as Eve herself can testify – and every house in Saxford opens its doors to him.

So when he’s found murdered in the woods near his mother’s home, Apple Tree Cottage, there’s no shortage of suspects. A jealous husband? A spurned lover? Or has someone from his past life caught up with him?

The police soon hit on a simple solution, and arrest his mother’s partner Howard. Ashton always hated him, and he bears all the marks of a recent fight. But Ashton’s mother, miles away in New Zealand, is convinced he’s innocent, and enlists Eve’s help to prove it.

There’s just one problem. Eve saw Howard sniffing around Apple Tree Cottage on the morning of the murder, and she’s fairly sure he’s guilty, too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Today is my stop on the Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – I was really pleased to read the next in the Eve Mallow series after reading Mystery on Hidden Lane.

This book finds obituary writer Eve Mallow called into help when her friend’s son is murdered in the village.

Ashton Foley is a troubled teen and knows everyone in Saxford St Peter, despite his reputation he is a charmer. So when he is found dead at Apple Tree Cottage there are several suspects that could be responsible.

The police move quickly but Ashton’s mother think they have made a mistake. However Eve thinks the arrested suspect is guilty too, so what can she do?

I really enjoyed this next instalment in the series, the author has created a lovely village atmosphere along with some great characters. Anyone who likes the St Marys Mead of Miss Marple or the Carsely of Agatha Raisin will love this series. Eve is a very likeable character who uses her skills to delve into whatever she is investigating.

An excellent read.

Purchase Links – Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage

For a free Audible trial click here

For a free Kindle Unlimited trial click here

2 thoughts on “Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage

  1. I love a good mystery story! This one sounds like it is really gripping and the fact that there is a lot of suspects makes it full of suspense and surprise. Thank you for sharing your thoughts Caroline, this sounds like a book which I would really enjoy! Fab post ❤ xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s