Blog Tour

A Very English Murder

The Amazon purchase links contained within my blog are Amazon Affiliate Links.

Author – Verity Bright.

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s. 

Social Media Links –

Twitter – @BrightVerity

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 309

The Blurb –

Move over Miss Marple, there’s a new sleuth in town! Meet Eleanor Swift: distinguished adventurer, dog lover, dignified lady… daring detective?

England, 1920Eleanor Swift has spent the last few years travelling the world: taking tea in China, tasting alligators in Peru, escaping bandits in Persia and she has just arrived in England after a chaotic forty-five-day flight from South Africa. Chipstone is about the sleepiest town you could have the misfortune to meet. And to add to these indignities – she’s now a Lady.

Lady Eleanor, as she would prefer not to be known, reluctantly returns to her uncle’s home, Henley Hall. Now Lord Henley is gone, she is the owner of the cold and musty manor. What’s a girl to do? Well, befriend the household dog, Gladstone, for a start, and head straight out for a walk in the English countryside, even though a storm is brewing…

But then, from the edge of a quarry, through the driving rain, Eleanor is shocked to see a man shot and killed in the distance. Before she can climb down to the spot, the villain is gone and the body has vanished. With no victim and the local police convinced she’s stirring up trouble, Eleanor vows to solve this affair by herself. And when her brakes are mysteriously cut, one thing seems sure: someone in this quiet country town has Lady Eleanor Swift in their murderous sights…

If you enjoy witty dialogue, glamorous intrigue and the very best of Golden Age mysteries, then you will adore Verity Bright’s unputdownable whodunnit, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Downton Abbey!  

Today is my stop on the A Very English Murder blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – This is the first in a new cosy crime mystery by Verity Bright. The series follows Eleanor Swift, or rather Lady Eleanor as she now is.

After her uncles death she has inherited a title and a house to go with it, she returns to England after travelling. She has very few memories of Henley House, which she now owns.

Whilst getting to know the estate, she takes a walk where she witnesses a man being shot. When her report to the police is questioned, she is determined to find out what has happened.

This mystery is set in the 1920’s and is a really enjoyable read. I can’t wait for the next in the series.

Purchase Links – A Very English Murder

For a free Audible trial click here

For a free Kindle Unlimited trial click here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s