Blog Tour

Death At The Dance

The Amazon purchase links contained within my blog are Amazon Affiliate Links.

Author – Verity Bright.

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s. 

Social Media Links –

Twitter:  @BrightVerity

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 276

The Blurb –

A masked ball, a dead body, a missing diamond necklace and a suspicious silver candlestick? Sounds like a case for Lady Eleanor Swift!

England, 1920Lady Eleanor Swift, adventurer extraordinaire and reluctant amateur detective, is taking a break from sleuthing. She’s got much bigger problems: Eleanor has two left feet, nothing to wear and she’s expected at the masked ball at the local manor. Her new beau Lance Langham is the host, so she needs to dazzle.

Surrounded by partygoers with painted faces, pirates, priests and enough feathers to drown an ostrich, Eleanor searches for a familiar face. As she follows a familiar pair of long legs up a grand staircase, she’s sure she’s on Lance’s trail. But she opens the door on a dreadful scene: Lance standing over a dead Colonel Puddifoot, brandishing a silver candlestick, the family safe wide open and empty.

Moments later, the police burst in and arrest Lance for murder, diamond theft and a spate of similar burglaries. But Eleanor is convinced her love didn’t do it, and with him locked up in prison, she knows she needs to clear his name.

Something Lance lets slip about his pals convinces Eleanor the answer lies close to home. Accompanied by her faithful sidekick Gladstone the bulldog, she begins with Lance’s friends – a set of fast driving, even faster drinking, high-society types with a taste for mischief. But after they start getting picked off in circumstances that look a lot like murder, Eleanor is in a race against time to clear Lance’s name and avoid another brush with death…

Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Downton Abbey will adore this tremendously fun cozy whodunnit, full of mystery, murder and intrigue!  

Today is my stop on the Death At The Dance blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – This is the second book in the Lady Eleanor Swift series.

Masquerade balls always provide a great backdrop for a murder, lots of people pretending to be someone else. Lady Eleanor is invited as the guest of honour and it isn’t long before she finds herself in the middle of a murder enquiry.

When a dead body is found at the party, Lady Eleanor’s beau Lord Lancelot, is deemed to be the culprit. Can Lady Eleanor prove his innocence when all the evidence points to him?

An excellent addition to the series, as Lady Eleanor once again puts her amateur detective skills to use. A clever plot full of humour and I can not wait to read more.

My review of A Very English Murder, the first in the series.

Purchase Links – Death At The Dance

For a free Audible trial click here

For a free Kindle Unlimited trial click here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s