Blog Tour

Murder at the Old Mill

Author – Clare Chase.

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries set in her home city of Cambridge and is fascinated by the location’s contrasts and contradictions. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere, from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare Chase

Social Media Links –

You can find Clare’s website and blog at http://www.clarechase.com

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 319

The Blurb –

When the calm of Saxford St Peter is disrupted by a deadly fire at the Old Mill, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow finds herself investigating a most surprising mystery!

Everyone in Saxford St Peter is desperate to know more about Harry Tennant, the newcomer who owns the Old Mill. He usually keeps himself to himself, but he’s finally invited the villagers round for drinks, and Eve Mallow isn’t the only one looking forward to having some questions answered.

But two days before the party, a terrible fire sweeps through the mill, and Harry is found dead. When Eve passes the burned remains of his beautiful house, she can’t resist the call to investigate. Especially when it turns out quiet, charming Harry was living a double life as the famous advice writer Pippa Longford. Eve has to wonder what revelations were contained in the letters he received… and whether one of them was worth killing for.

Accompanied by her reliable dachshund sidekick Gus, Eve starts digging. She soon realises Harry was at the centre of a web of lives – and lies. There’s an uncle desperate to inherit, two women who thought they were his one and only, not to mention everyone who shared their darkest secrets with him. Was one of those strangers much closer to home than Harry knew? And can Eve untangle the truth before she finds herself face to face with a killer?

A completely charming page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Today is my stop on the Murder at the Old Mill blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – I always love reading these books, the Eve Mallow series has become a favourite of mine.

As a cosy crime fan, it is reminiscent of Agatha Raisin and Barnaby stories where murders are committed in idyllic country settings.

Again Eve finds herself in the middle of a mystery when Harry Tennant is found dead when his house is set on fire.

It soon becomes clear that Harry Tennant wasn’t all he seemed to be, he was an agony aunt, obviously working under an assumed name.

The column he wrote was successful and many people wrote in with their problems, did he discover something he shouldn’t?

Another great addition to the series, with lots of twists as Eve delves into Harry’s world. I can not wait until the next book.

Purchase Links – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08CBHCRSG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_Suq0FbF85YAN0

One thought on “Murder at the Old Mill

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s