Blog Tour

Murder at the Wedding

Author – Helena Dixon.

Helena Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. Helena was the RNA winner of the Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010.

Helena Dixon

Social Media Links –

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/helenadixonuk 

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 277

The Blurb –

’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought…

1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the gravelled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honoured to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out…

The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honourable Alexander ‘Sandy’ Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?

When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.

The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.

Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself…?

A completely charming and unputdownable cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Today is my stop on the Murder at the Wedding blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – This is the seventh in the Miss Underhay series. You can read my reviews of the previous titles.

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel

Murder at Enderley Hall

Murder on the Dancefloor

Murder at Elm House

This is a different setting for Kitty as she attends her cousin’s wedding in Yorkshire. The wedding however is ruined by a murder, where as usual Kitty is on hand to play detective, to try and find the killer.

With a whole host of people attending the suspect list is immense, and again it is great to read along and try and solve the crime before Kitty. However with lots of possible culprits it isn’t that easy.

Another well crafted addition by the author, this has become one of my favourite cosy crime series. It is a a great mystery with the added attraction of a historical setting.

Purchase Links – Murder at the Wedding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s