Blog Tour · Uncategorized

Murder at the Castle

Author – Lisa Cutts.

Lisa Cutts is a full-time detective constable investigating murders for a living. When off duty she writes a fictitious version of her day job. She lives and works within the county of Kent with her husband and Labrador.

She is the author of the DC Nina Foster books, Never Forget and Remember, RememberNever Forgot was longlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award 2013 and the winner of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award 2014 for Best Thriller. She has also written four books in the East Rise Incident Room series, Mercy KillingBuried SecretsLost Lives and Don’t Trust Him. All four centre around DI Harry Powell and his Major Crime Team battling to solve the latest murders within the county. Currently she is writing the Little Challham mysteries, cosy mysteries set in a fictional village in Kent.

She writes a monthly column, Behind the Tape, for Writing Magazine answering police procedural questions from other writers. In early 2016, she was honoured to become the Patron of Rochester Literature Festival and help establish Murderous Medway, an annual crime fiction festival packed full of amazing author panels. As well as being on BBC Radio 4’s Open Book, Lisa has twice appeared on This Morning to chat about TV crime dramas Broadchurch and Line of Duty.

Social Media Links –

https://www.facebook.com/lisa.cutts.505/

https://www.instagram.com/lisa_cutts/

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 301

Lisa Cutts

The Blurb –

When the star guest collapses at a wine tasting, it seems someone has a taste for murder. Fortunately, amateur sleuth Belinda Penshurst was at the event – and now she’s on the case!

Belinda Penshurst loves her home village Little Challham, and its charming, peaceful ways. So when wine critic Sadie Oppenshaw dies at a tasting Belinda organised, she immediately turns detective to uncover the poisoner…

Accompanied by retired detective Harry Powell and her boisterous Labrador Horatio, Belinda sets out to investigate the world of wine. There are scandals brewing everywhere… but do the local DIY enthusiasts have a deadly vendetta, or did Sadie’s reviews cause a resentful restaurant owner to crack?

When another of the guests at the wine tasting is found poisoned, it becomes clear the killer is only just getting started. Can Belinda crack the case and open the champagne, before the murderer catches up with her?

A charming cozy mystery, perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, H.Y. Hanna and Emily Organ.

Today is my stop on the Murder at the Castle blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – I was really looking forward to reading this book after reading the first in the series.

Murder in the Village

Belinda has organised a wine tasting event and invited the famous wine critic Sadie Oppenshaw. Being a critic means she isn’t very popular, having ruffled many a feather with her reviews.

So when she ends up dead, Belinda swings into action to try and find the killer. Between her, Harry and her dog they make a very formidable team. Again there are lots of twists and turns before we get to the reveal.

The author has again written a really good cosy crime mystery and this series is growing into a must read for me. Anybody who is a fan of cosy crime needs to start reading this series!

Purchase Links – Murder at the Castle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s