Blog Tour

Mystery at Magpie Lodge

Author – Clare Chase

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare Chase

Social Media Links –

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Publisher – Bookouture

Pages – 327

The Blurb –

After the black sheep of the Fulton family is found dead, the village of Saxford St Peter is quick to blame it on his past misdeeds. But Eve Mallow is on the hunt for someone closer to home…

When the down-on-his-luck Emory Fulton moves into crumbling Magpie Lodge, and starts running historical tours, the locals are none too pleased. He’s inventing grisly tales about their lovely little village, and disturbing everyone’s peace.

But then he’s found dead in his bath, and everyone is suddenly running scared. Could something strange be happening? After all, the murder mirrors one of Fulton’s stories about Saxford’s dark past…

But Eve Mallow is sure the answers lie in much more recent events.

Accompanied by her stalwart dachshund sidekick Gus, she starts to dig a little deeper. Could it be Fulton’s snobbish bigwig brother, or the suspicious local academic? Why was his goddaughter handing him mysterious parcels, and why wouldn’t his sister-in-law let him in her house?

As Eve unravels the secrets of the living and the dead, one thing is for sure: Fulton was a haunted, hunted man. And if Eve doesn’t crack the case soon, she might find whoever wanted to keep Fulton quiet on her trail too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Today is my stop on the Mystery at Magpie Lodge blog tour. Many thanks to Bookouture for the chance to read and review.

My thoughts – This is another great read from Clare Chase. Her writing makes this a superior cosy crime series.

It was nice to catch up with Eve and Gus again as this time she looks into another suspicious death.

Emory Fulton was once a famous TV ghost hunter, and frequented many a television panel. Now his star has faded he gives ghost tours and he knows the history of local families and buildings and that knowledge makes him dangerous to someone.

His brother and sister in law had made him stay outside of the family home and he had been seen arguing with his goddaughter’s partner.

Eve is just getting to know him when he is found murdered. To write a true obituary Eve seeks to get to know the deceased better.

This is is a wonderful read and I can not wait to read the next one.

Other titles in the series include:

Mystery on Hidden Lane

Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage

Mystery at Seagrave Hall

Mystery at the Old Mill

Purchase Links – Mystery at Magpie Lodge



One thought on “Mystery at Magpie Lodge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s